Register    Login    Forum    FAQ    PinSimDB.org

Board index » Future Pinball » BAM corner




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 143 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 15  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: BAM - OpenVR (oculus / vive) beta
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 12:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:02 pm
Posts: 827
http://www.ravarcade.pl/debug/ovr-beta2.zip

Instalation:
- copy "ovr-beta" to Future Pinball dir. Do not copy to BAM dir.
- install SteamVR
- for oculus : install oculus sdk 0.8 or oculus home 1.3 (and SteamVR too)

FOR Oculus Home users:
- SteamVR Beta needed. In Steam select "properties" of SteamVR, go to last tab (Beta) and from combobox select "beta - SteamVR beta update".
- Enable Unknown Sources in Oculus Home. Go to Settings, on left menu, click General then toggle "Unknow Sources".

Run FPloader.exe from "ovr-beta" dir. Load table.

In "ovr-beta.zip" different files than in normal release:
- bam.dll
- plugins/openvr.dll
- plugins/openvr_api.dll <- lib from valve
- plugins/postfx.dll - new postfx, old one is not compatible

Known issues:
- SSAO don't work in new PostFX
- on some gfx cards (like my intel iris 6100) after switching from openvr plugin to something else i get artifacts/frozen screen (game is working fine)
- [fixed: may 4] disabling of Playfield Reflections may remove some table objects in left eye image.

Tested on:
- Oculus DK2, Geforce 550 Ti, win 8.1, oculus sdk 0.8
- Oculus DK2, Geforce 550 Ti, win 8.1, oculus home 1.3.2
- Oculus DK1 (thanks Gimli)
- Oculus CV1 (thanks Tortri)
- HTC Vive (thanks RollBall)

-----------------
Options:
- Tracking Orgin: Seated or Standing
- Scale: 0.2 - 5.0 (default = 1) <- cool thing to play
- Start cam position, X,Y,Z - you may change "home" position. Z value is used only when Tracking Orgin = Seated
- AA Mode: Off, 2x, 4x, 6x, 8x
- VSync - it work better for me when it is set to "Off".
- Home key. Default: F12 - This key is to reset camera position.
- Frame latency. Default: 0.0 - In case of motion sickness try -1 or 1

Some recomendations:
- do not enable VSync in FP video/rendering options.
- do not set AA in video/rendering options (it will not be used and may decreas speed)
- do not enable Fullscreen in video/rendering options (image in FP window is only for debug). You may set any window resolution (it may be small). That will not change what you see in HMD.
- you need as many FPS as you can get. For DK2 you need 150 FPS (150 / 2 = 75 Hz for DK2), for Vive or CV1 you may need 180 FPS
- tested it on "buccaner" on Geforce 550 Ti and i5-2500k to get needed framerate i set:
- Quality: medium
- BAM: disable New Renderer
- BAM: disable PostFX

--------------------------------------
April 25: UPDATE.
New FPLoader.exe. Now it works with oculus home 1.3.2. "Home" command works fine with oculus home.
-------------------------------------
April 28: UPDATE.
New openvr.dll
- Remove "low" option for Quality
- Quality option renamed to AA mode with options: Off, 2x, 4x, 6x, 8x.
Off = old Quality:medium, 2x = new value, 4x = High, ...
- Home key now works with Oculus SDK 0.8
-------------------------------------
May 1: UPDATE,
New bam.dll, openvr.dll
- Fixed focus to game windows on game start.
- Fixed tracking latency - motion sickness. Testes on HTC Vive.
- Added option to tune latency (Frame Latency). Now it should be 0.0, but you may change it. Please let me know if other value works better.
-------------------------------------
May 3: UPDATE,
New bam.dll, openvr.dll
- Fixed crash on game exit
- Added Scale options. Like in Alice in Wonderland. You may get bigger (Scale < 1.0) or smaller (Scale > 1.0). Try 1.3 and you will look at pinball like when you was child.
- Added Tracking Orgin: Standing. For HTC Vive user: Game room floor will be your floor and you may walk in game room. Scale option will work in that mode too.
-------------------------------------
May 4: UPDATE,
New bam.dll, openvr.dll
- Fixed missing objects when Playfield Reflections is disabled
- Frame Latency is now integer value in range [-1 , 2]

_________________
http://www.ravarcade.pl
Better Arcade Mode
current BAM version: v1.4-185, released: Sep 17, 2017


Last edited by ravarcade on Thu May 26, 2016 3:34 pm, edited 9 times in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM - OpenVR (oculus / vive) beta
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 1:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 1700
Location: Ontario, Canada
Thanks for all you work Rav!!

I'll give it a try !

I had to change the link you posted to :

http://www.ravarcade.pl/debug/ovr-beta.zip


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM - OpenVR (oculus / vive) beta
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 1700
Location: Ontario, Canada
why do you need steam vr for occulus?

I have Steam , where do you get steam vr?

If you can do a video whenever you have time , like you did with BAM for TPA that would be cool.

Thanks Rav for all your work!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM - OpenVR (oculus / vive) beta
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:02 pm
Posts: 827
Gimli wrote:
why do you need steam vr for occulus?

I have Steam , where do you get steam vr?

If you can do a video whenever you have time , like you did with BAM for TPA that would be cool.

Thanks Rav for all your work!

Yes. You need steamvr.
https://steamdb.info/app/250820/info/

I will try to make video when i fix all errors.

---------------
UPDATE.
http://www.ravarcade.pl/debug/ovr-beta.zip
Changed files: FPLoader.exe
Now it works fine with Oculus Home 1.3.2.

_________________
http://www.ravarcade.pl
Better Arcade Mode
current BAM version: v1.4-185, released: Sep 17, 2017


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM - OpenVR (oculus / vive) beta
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 12:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 1700
Location: Ontario, Canada
Amazing Stuff Ravarcade !! :shock: :shock:

I can confirm that it works very well with DK1

I can't remember my specs, but I have a fairly old computer Windows 7, and Graphics card.(nvidia GT 610)

If I set it to medium resolution, I get a playable speed.

I chose Gianfranco's Nip it table as it has an amazing 3d 50's Cafe as the games room.

It is really cool look all around the room and table, and tracks very smoothly.

I followed your recommendations and I haven't played with all the settings.

The stand up/sit down camera seems reversed... If I stand up the table raises up with me
and if I sit down it falls down.

head movements are perfect.

There are the glitches you described. I have to face off in a funny direction to line myself up with the table...

All in all... a very amazing first release!!!!

P.S. it looks like DK1 is not supported by Home 1.3.2
https://forums.oculus.com/community/dis ... ent_371824

Thank you :D


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM - OpenVR (oculus / vive) beta
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 26, 2016 5:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 5:07 pm
Posts: 1
I just tested this with the HTC Vive. It's awesome, this is amazing stuff. Thanks a lot for your hard work! :D


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM - OpenVR (oculus / vive) beta
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 6:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:02 pm
Posts: 827
Update.
- Removed "low" quality option
- "Quality" renamed to "AA mode" with options: 0ff, 2x, 4x, 6x, 8x. (2x is new)
- Fixed Home key - it should work always.

_________________
http://www.ravarcade.pl
Better Arcade Mode
current BAM version: v1.4-185, released: Sep 17, 2017


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM - OpenVR (oculus / vive) beta
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:52 pm
Posts: 3
It works on the CV1 but with some issues.

1. Doesn't work on Oculus Home for me (using the latest version posted)
2. There is a slight delay (which gives me motion sickness and I don't get motion sickness easily)
3. After running the table nothing is displayed on my Oculus or the apps screen but once I press spacebar a time or two it starts working.


I'm willing to help test if you want, this is awesome!

-Curt


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM - OpenVR (oculus / vive) beta
 Post Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 5:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:02 pm
Posts: 827
Tortri wrote:
It works on the CV1 but with some issues.

1. Doesn't work on Oculus Home for me (using the latest version posted)
2. There is a slight delay (which gives me motion sickness and I don't get motion sickness easily)
3. After running the table nothing is displayed on my Oculus or the apps screen but once I press spacebar a time or two it starts working.


I'm willing to help test if you want, this is awesome!

-Curt

Thanks for testing.

Ad. 1.
SteamVR/OpenVR support for oculus home is in beta stage. I should probably mention it. To enable oculus home support you need:
- open steam and select "properties" of SteamVR
- switch to "beta" tab
- from combobox select: "beta - SteamVR beta update".
It works form me. I tested it on DK2 with only oculus home installed

Ad. 2.
Fixed in last update. I tested it with HTC Vive. When user is close to edge of "play ground" walls are drawed. I set params to match move of FP game roome with that walls.

Ad. 3.
I houpe that last update fix it. Please note, that it may take ~1-2 seconds before BAM starts drawning when game is loaded. So you may see black image.

_________________
http://www.ravarcade.pl
Better Arcade Mode
current BAM version: v1.4-185, released: Sep 17, 2017


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM - OpenVR (oculus / vive) beta
 Post Posted: Sun May 01, 2016 6:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:52 pm
Posts: 3
Quote:
Ad. 1.
SteamVR/OpenVR support for oculus home is in beta stage. I should probably mention it. To enable oculus home support you need:
- open steam and select "properties" of SteamVR
- switch to "beta" tab
- from combobox select: "beta - SteamVR beta update".
It works form me. I tested it on DK2 with only oculus home installed

I went into SteamVR and shows I am checked for the beta. Not sure if I'm doing something wrong, even checked for update. (run FPLoader as Admin)


Quote:
Ad. 2.
Fixed in last update. I tested it with HTC Vive. When user is close to edge of "play ground" walls are drawed. I set params to match move of FP game roome with that walls.


I deleted the original folder and recopied the newest update, this seem to mostly fix it but still slightly there, just enough to mess with me.

Quote:
Ad. 3.
I houpe that last update fix it. Please note, that it may take ~1-2 seconds before BAM starts drawning when game is loaded. So you may see black image.


That's fixed.

There is one other issue where when I exit Future Pinball Crashes, also is there a reset position button?

Thanks again for such a great program!

-Curt


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 143 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 15  Next

Board index » Future Pinball » BAM corner


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: