GoPinball.com
http://gopinball.com/forum/

BAM Lighting Setup
http://gopinball.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=8122
Page 10 of 16

Author:  Gimli [ Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: BAM Lighting Setup

Thanks for trying it Terry ! all the VR stuff in my version can be turned off...but I loved testing out some vr ideas ...have you seen the animated shark head coming out of the front wall during multiball ?

It has various objects in
it's mouth..he he

Author:  TerryRed [ Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: BAM Lighting Setup

Gimli wrote:
Thanks for trying it Terry ! all the VR stuff in my version can be turned off...but I loved testing out some vr ideas ...have you seen the animated shark head coming out of the front wall during multiball ?

It has various objects in
it's mouth..he he


I caught it for a second, yes. :)

I have tried out a lot of tables in VR...so damn amazing. Now the lighting on FP is essential to get right. With low ambient lighting these tables can look amazing...but only if they have good playfield and hardware lights like on Jaws UPro.

Some tables like Knight Rider or MOTU won't look good like that since the inserts have no flares, and the GI isnt hardware lighting.

Author:  Gimli [ Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: BAM Lighting Setup

I'll look at Slams jaws lighting and playfield swapping tomorrow...cool stuff !!

Author:  GeorgeH [ Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: BAM Lighting Setup

Gimli,

I was wandering if the problem with the 2 playfield textures is with the calculation of the shadow masks? Or is the "APFDark" surface interfering with being able to see the shadow masks because "APFDark" is set a bit higher than the playfield?

If the problem is the calc of the shadow masks, you might try moving the "APFDark" surface off the playfield during the calculation.

If it is the "APFDark" surface interfering with being able to see the shadow masks, you might try replacing the surface with an overlay. The overlay would have to be the exact same size as "APFDark" to make sure the light and dark playfield textures are aligned correctly. I am guessing this is it.

Just some ideas,

George

Author:  Gimli [ Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: BAM Lighting Setup

Just a quick check..but yep looks very encouraging
playfield texture swap is instantaneous and shadow maps are retained...

I do a more thorough look later with a video....

Author:  GeorgeH [ Fri Jan 04, 2019 3:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: BAM Lighting Setup

I had trouble with lights on the night version of CFTBL which has a surface like APFDark. I suspect any method that deletes it will probably work.

George

Author:  Gimli [ Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: BAM Lighting Setup

GeorgeH wrote:
I had trouble with lights on the night version of CFTBL which has a surface like APFDark. I suspect any method that deletes it will probably work.

George


I think so...

Author:  Gimli [ Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: BAM Lighting Setup

TerryRed wrote:
If the PF texture can be swapped out...i wonder how fast exactly. Ive seen SLAM and Steve Paradis do that using things like multi-layered surfaces for the PF...but if the PF can be one single layer that never needs to hidden,etc...then this can make for a pretty realistic PF images with some really cool lighting. If the TGA image for the shadowmaps is tied to the actual light in script...then that's great stuff.

A playfield HUD can't be used in this way because I think it is self luminous so it wont cast shadows....like the Translite.


Here's a video...the playfield textures can be swapped instantaneously and they all retain shadow maps
https://youtu.be/LsTxRU3iit0

Author:  TerryRed [ Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: BAM Lighting Setup

Awesome stuff....I passed this idea to SLAM. The advantage of this is retaining reflections and other things while still having the shadowmaps.

As the video shows...designing a table with hardware lights as the GI allows for shadowmaps to be more effective and visible with lower ambient lighting in BAM. With the shadowmaps tied to each GI Flasher to only be visible when the Flasher is on...this allows for ANY playfield image to be used and changed at any time as the shadowmaps work separately!

What are the commands like for swapping the images. Can you just use any image, or can you use an Image List sequence?

I'm thinking in terms of a Looping Video for the playfield image. :)

If you can't use an Image sequence...you "could" cleverly name your movie "images" as Clip00,jpg, Clip01,jpg, Clip02.jpg and use a variable to change up the image sequence.

Then just use a Timer to start a VideoPlay sub routine and use Clip00 for your playfield image. Then on the next cycle of the Timer have it add 1 to variable name for your playfield image, and so on until it reaches the last image, and then start over.

I'd be really curious how well this would work with 4K images and at what speed,etc.

Author:  Gimli [ Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: BAM Lighting Setup

TerryRed wrote:
Awesome stuff....I passed this idea to SLAM. The advantage of this is retaining reflections and other things while still having the shadowmaps.

As the video shows...designing a table with hardware lights as the GI allows for shadowmaps to be more effective and visible with lower ambient lighting in BAM. With the shadowmaps tied to each GI Flasher to only be visible when the Flasher is on...this allows for ANY playfield image to be used and changed at any time as the shadowmaps work separately!

What are the commands like for swapping the images. Can you just use any image, or can you use an Image List sequence?

I'm thinking in terms of a Looping Video for the playfield image. :)

If you can't use an Image sequence...you "could" cleverly name your movie "images" as Clip00,jpg, Clip01,jpg, Clip02.jpg and use a variable to change up the image sequence.

Then just use a Timer to start a VideoPlay sub routine and use Clip00 for your playfield image. Then on the next cycle of the Timer have it add 1 to variable name for your playfield image, and so on until it reaches the last image, and then start over.

I'd be really curious how well this would work with 4K images and at what speed,etc.


I am not sure what the resolution limit is on FP textures

The command is simple

Code:
xBAM.SetPlayfieldTexture "TextureName"


but first all textures must simply be assigned to a "surface" in table editor.

Each "surface " has 3 places to add textures ( top, side and enamel map) these mean nothing for our purposes and are merely place holders for adding textures ..

Once textures are assigned this way then use the code.

viewtopic.php?nomobile=f=55&t=6587&p=85592#p85592


This is the same process for all textures that Bam can swap... (All objects, cabinet , backglass and playfield)

Page 10 of 16 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/