Register    Login    Forum    FAQ    PinSimDB.org

Board index » Future Pinball » BAM corner




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: BAM Freetrack settings
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:16 am
Posts: 8
Hi ravarcade,

I will start my own topic about this, i will not spoil another his topic.

This was basically my problem:

Quote:
....
It looks like the rotation center is laying under the table, making it turn zo i can see the outside side of the cabinet. Instead i would prefer the rotation center to be on the top of the glass of the cabinet, so the sides of the table stay still.


You answered me this:

Quote:
It is exacly how BAM works. It "rotation center" is on the glass.
With BAM You can scale and move table. In You case i guess table (or part of table) is above screen surface. See screenshot: i have set only "angle", this way upper part of table is inside screen, bottom of table is above screen. In this setting, when You move cam left or right beyond "table edges" you have to see cab side gfx on bottom of table and part of room between display edge and virtal table/cab edge.

If You set angle =0 and You don't move table above on inside display all will work as You want. It is more visible in new "Forced Arcade Mode". In this mode all graphics is displayed and You will see borders of virtual cab.

In case if You miss, here is guide how to enable "Forced Arcade Mode":
1. In FP menu: Video/Rendering Options - uncheck "arcade mode". FP will work in normal mode
2. In BAM menu go to [Config] -> [Addons] and change "Force Arcade Mode" to On

-----
About Static Cam settings and cam position.
For some time You can enter values measured in real world. All You have to do is measue distance from display edge to You eyes, inter it and set display size (in [Reality] menu).
If that values are different than in real world, don't expect from BAM to draw "correct" if You see, that values are "wrong".


I tried this exactly, so i "forced arcade mode" trough BAM, and disabled it in FP.

here is a screenshot how it looks when i step to the RIGHT, or turn my head.
My head is 65cm above the screen. The static cam settings are
ScaleX=scaleY=scaleZ=1.200
TranslateX=TranslateY=TranslateZ=0

In reality menu, I have the correct values for my cab dimensions (height front, height back, distance to glass from TV etc...). I also tried shift-Y with 65cm and 0cm, both have the same result.


Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM Freetrack settings
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 2:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:02 pm
Posts: 935
Sorry, but i don't get what is wrong.
For me i looks ok.
On left You have blue cab border, on right You have right cab border. Both are on glass level. When You move head left/right that borders don't move. That what is inside screen (under glass) moves.
On screenshot - black surface under left/blue border is table inner left surface.
Once again - all looks correct.

Based on screenshot and if from your post: You moved head ~50 cm to right.
If value of Your head move is incorrect - You shout tweek scale in FreeTrack tracker program. BAM expect, that coords units recived from tracker is milimeters. Scale in tracker probably should be equal to 1.0

_________________
http://www.ravarcade.pl
Better Arcade Mode
current BAM version: v1.4-241, released: Nov 9, 2018


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM Freetrack settings
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:16 am
Posts: 8
I understand what you are saying. The principle is correct, when I move right, the table is tilted and i can see the sides.

But I am not seeing anything in 3D? this is what I was trying to accomplish:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oGK6qW0RvE0

Edit: I am using a 37" LCD TV with a resolution of 1360x768px as my playfield. Could this be the reason, becaus I am not using a full HD screen?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM Freetrack settings
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 2:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:02 pm
Posts: 935
There is no problem with Your display res.
But there is one very important thing. If Your display resolution is 1360x768, same resolution must be used in FP.
Display res is with aspect 16:9. If for example You set FP playfield res to 1024x768 all will not work, because aspect ration for this res is 4:3.
BTW. Display on may videos is with res 1360x768.

If You set everything way You described it must work.
How to make proof?
Grab camera (phone camera) and make Your own video. Check result.

Why You don't see it same way?
You watch at screen with 2 eyes. The brain is very good at identifying deception. It is easy for barin, because images for both eyes are same.

Another experiment.
Set the camera on a tripod in front of a real pinball. Make photo. Don't move camera. With photoshop cut "table surface", scale it (You will probably have to "stretch" it). Print with scale 1:1. Put it on pinball and make another photo. Compare both photos. They will look almost same. When You look at photo on pinball glass from same place as camera. You will cleary see, that on table is flat image.
Now if You close one eye, blink and somehow photo disappear, You may not detect change.

Solution 1.
Close one eye. Move. All would look close to video.

Solution 2.
USE STEREOSCOPY! Simples way is anaglyph glasses. Realy try.

_________________
http://www.ravarcade.pl
Better Arcade Mode
current BAM version: v1.4-241, released: Nov 9, 2018


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM Freetrack settings
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 3:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2189
Location: Ontario, Canada
is this not the same thing I am discussing about monocular
illusion on videos ?

head tracing is cool but does not give you 3d just looks that way on videos

free track with web cam also likely not as good as
kinect or ps3eyes

for 3d as rav says try anaglyph (you can buy the glasses for a buck
at a dollar store or on line ). bam does 3 types of anaglyph
so works with both types of glasses

or ideally get 3d card and display

best situation is the combination of both head tracking and
3d glasses


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM Freetrack settings
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2189
Location: Ontario, Canada
my question and yours is how do we get that
3d effect with head tracking alone

without using 3d stereoscopy
(3d card/glasses/display)

must be a simple way ( other than wearing an eye patch which even stiill
doesn't look ad good as videos)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM Freetrack settings
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:02 pm
Posts: 935
Gimli wrote:
my question and yours is how do we get that
3d effect with head tracking alone

without using 3d stereoscopy
(3d card/glasses/display)

must be a simple way ( other than wearing an eye patch which even stiill
doesn't look ad good as videos)

Ok. Here we have challenge: Get better feel of 3d with only head tracking. No stereoscopy. Both eyes open.

I see only one way: cheating.

Here is idea. We dive "pixel" to "background" or "objects".
"background" is further than "object".
We want to make "objects' be more visible.
For example we can blur pixel of "background" close to "object" and same time make it little darker. Change must be very small. Goal is to force brain to focus on "objects" and convince that the background is irrelevant.

It sound simply, but it is not. It should be done as postprocessing tool. It requires same informations as antialiasing or Depth-of-Field effects: atleast depth buffer, also usefull may be "normal vector". There is also big chance to spoil antialiasing.

_________________
http://www.ravarcade.pl
Better Arcade Mode
current BAM version: v1.4-241, released: Nov 9, 2018


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM Freetrack settings
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 6:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2189
Location: Ontario, Canada
sounds interesting
I'll check head tracking with your normal map
demos you posted

it would be happy coincidence if these ended up
improving 3d effect as it might intice
table designers to employ more textures


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM Freetrack settings
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2189
Location: Ontario, Canada
sorry Ichigo if I intruded on your post
but it sounded similar to what I've been thinking


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: BAM Freetrack settings
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:16 am
Posts: 8
No, don't be sorry at all, this is very interesting!

Like ravarcade said, I used the 3D glasses from my 3D tv in the living room, and tried all the 3D settings of BAM, but none of them are giving me the result i was hoping for.
Those 3D modes in BAM are working very good, dont get me wrong, but i think I was expecting something else.

For now, I am mooooooore than happy with the mode 'happyCab', where i just resize everything by default with scale = 1.2 :D


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » Future Pinball » BAM corner


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: