Register    Login    Forum    FAQ    PinSimDB.org

Board index » Welcome to GoPinball » General Discussion




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: A List of the Best Solid State Tables and How I Changed
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:12 pm
Posts: 1575
Location: Arkansas, USA
draziw wrote:
so where would one find this batch of tables by Pinballmanic2010?


He posted them on this thread but I think he took them down because someone complained that he did not get permission from the author to post them.

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=6129

I think he got the files from a torrent on this site:

http://www.pleasuredome.org.uk/

George


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A List of the Best Solid State Tables and How I Changed
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:12 pm
Posts: 1575
Location: Arkansas, USA
I added "Multipede", "Warlock", and "Wooden Ship" to the best tables list.

I revised the posting for "Creature from the Black Lagoon" on the best tables list to change it to the version I recently modified and posted on Pinsimdb.

I also revised the posting for "World Cup Soccer" to provide instruction to remove default high scores from the script.

George


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A List of the Best Solid State Tables and How I Changed
 Post Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 3:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
This table has default high scores that are defined in the script. If you want to eliminate them, place a single quote (') at the beginning of each of the lines in the script and then press the button "Reset fpRAM File to Default" that is located on the "Table Info" screen:


You suggested this on WC soccer
as you are aware these names and score will get updated automatically as you beat them
so you will lose this function if you place apostrophe's in front of those lines...

you can change the default names and highscores in the "Table Info" screen


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A List of the Best Solid State Tables and How I Changed
 Post Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:12 pm
Posts: 1575
Location: Arkansas, USA
Gimli wrote:
Quote:
This table has default high scores that are defined in the script. If you want to eliminate them, place a single quote (') at the beginning of each of the lines in the script and then press the button "Reset fpRAM File to Default" that is located on the "Table Info" screen:


You suggested this on WC soccer
as you are aware these names and score will get updated automatically as you beat them
so you will lose this function if you place apostrophe's in front of those lines...

you can change the default names and highscores in the "Table Info" screen


Yes I know. You don't really want to get me started on this. Maybe it is just me but I hate default high scores. ...And why builders of tables elect to add them to the script instead of using the "Table Info" screen is beyond me. The script overrides anything entered on the "Table Info" screen. So when a builder of a table adds high scores to the script, the only option to get rid of them is to change the script. I guess what I hate most about default high scores is they serve remind me how bad a player I am because there are some tables I play where the default high score never goes away.

George


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A List of the Best Solid State Tables and How I Changed
 Post Posted: Tue May 09, 2017 2:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
You can just change them to a lower number in script that is easy to surpass without removing the dmd highscore listing routine...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A List of the Best Solid State Tables and How I Changed
 Post Posted: Tue May 09, 2017 2:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:12 pm
Posts: 1575
Location: Arkansas, USA
I prefer to only see my own scores.

George


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A List of the Best Solid State Tables and How I Changed
 Post Posted: Tue May 09, 2017 8:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Blindpeser had suggested I include DMD high score list after DMD name entry on Francisco's routine

It doesn't require any default high scores....these are really just for an initial challenge so you don't win a credit for nothing

You could have an initial threshold number instead for first highscore


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A List of the Best Solid State Tables and How I Changed
 Post Posted: Tue May 09, 2017 10:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:12 pm
Posts: 1575
Location: Arkansas, USA
Gimli wrote:
Blindpeser had suggested I include DMD high score list after DMD name entry on Francisco's routine

This is another reason I don't like fake high scores. Quite a few tables list high scores on the DMD often during the attract sequence. I don't like fake scores being posted on it. Deleting fake high scores from the script or "Table Info" has no affect on the high score list. It simply won't display any high scores for a while until you enter them, which is the way I think it should work.

Gimli wrote:
It doesn't require any default high scores....these are really just for an initial challenge so you don't win a credit for nothing

You could have an initial threshold number instead for first highscore

I know how it works. I just don't like it. Why not change it the way I want it?

Of all the things I change on tables, why do you have a hard spot with this?

George


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A List of the Best Solid State Tables and How I Changed
 Post Posted: Tue May 09, 2017 10:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
hey George
I don't have a hard spot with this.
I am just clarifying what we are wanting to accomplish?

I don't think I am clear what you are saying:

Quote:
This table has default high scores that are defined in the script. If you want to eliminate them, place a single quote (') at the beginning of each of the lines in the script and then press the button "Reset fpRAM File to Default" that is located on the "Table Info" screen:


Quote:
Deleting fake high scores from the script or "Table Info" has no affect on the high score list. It simply won't display any high scores for a while until you enter them, which is the way I think it should work.


At risk of being boring, allow me the following, clarification
There are two ways that Default (or "Fake") are placed in tables

As you stated above they are:
1. In the Table Info Screen - This will work if the script has NOT been set to over ride this
2.In the script - will over ride 1.
Often placed in script so it can be used on the DMD screen in attract mode.

In your first quote above you speak of 2 things:
1.reset FPRam and remove all default high scores from Table info screen
2.Going to script and inactivating DMD high score routine...

I am simply saying you can remove all the default high scores if you want and not
inactivate the DMD routine.

You can code it to only add your scores and set a starting score amount (ie 1 million or whatever) as your starting amount.

This comment is more about a general approach and not necessarily about World Cup Soccer only...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A List of the Best Solid State Tables and How I Changed
 Post Posted: Tue May 09, 2017 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:36 pm
Posts: 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
So for instance, George you can do the following in WC Soccer:

1.Go to table inf, like you described and click Reset fpRam (to clear high scores)

then instead of inactivating the DMD routine go to around line 1996 or so depending on version ( or search for 'init default score)

change this code:
Code:
'init default score
   if (nvR1=0) then
      nvHighScore1=20000000
      nvHighScore1Name="PEL"
      nvHighScore2=15000000
      nvHighScore2Name="MAR"
      nvHighScore3=10000000
      nvHighScore3Name="RON"
      nvHighScore4=7000000
      nvHighScore4Name="MES"


to this code:
Code:
'init default score
   if (nvR1=0) then
      nvHighScore1=0
      nvHighScore1Name=""
      nvHighScore2=0
      nvHighScore2Name=""
      nvHighScore3=0
      nvHighScore3Name=""
      nvHighScore4=0
      nvHighScore4Name=""


This wil have no names or scores in the DMD attract mode and will only enter your new high scores and new names....

now it will likely give you a credit for each trivial high score but that also can be changed very easily in script


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Board index » Welcome to GoPinball » General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: