Register    Login    Forum    FAQ    PinSimDB.org

Board index » Welcome to GoPinball » General Discussion




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Resolution problems / Backbox doesn't refresh
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 8:44 am
Posts: 371
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Hello!
Today I bought a second monitor (first step to build a small cabinet).
But there is a big problem.

When I try to play in arcade mode monitor 1 shows the playfield and monitor 2 shows the backbox. But the backbox doesn't refreh the scores and so on. It looks like frozen. :-(
Anybody knows this problem...

I think my preferences are ok, there are not many buttons to click. :-(

One thing: Display 1 got a digital cable, Display 2 got a vga-cable... but that won't be the problem, huh?

I also cannot set the right size to the backbox.
After loading I can set the size for the playfield, but when I choose the options for the backbox nothing happens on the second screen clicking 4,8,6,2.

Hell..... :evil:


Last edited by ChrissOnline on Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Backbox doesn't refresh
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 8:44 am
Posts: 371
Location: Germany, Bavaria
One GFX-Card: NVidia GeForce 8800 GTX
Windows 7

I Think ONE GFX-Card is ok?!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Backbox doesn't refresh
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:57 am
Posts: 1564
I would say windows 7...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Backbox doesn't refresh
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 5:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 8:44 am
Posts: 371
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Ok, hours later.... Now it works a BIT better... I have to turn my windows settings from the playfield 90 degrees. Then refreshing works... don't ask me why.
No my problem is that you can rotate only both displays in the FP options. So my backbox is turned too... what a f---

Win7 in XP compatibility mode seems not to be a problem.

Now i'll try to use a frontend for FP... I hope I can set the resolution there! Trying on...


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Backbox doesn't refresh
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 7:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 8:44 am
Posts: 371
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Well, now it works... not as good as I thought, but it's ok for the first try... and I must say: WOW! Playing in arcade-view is definately more cool. That's great!!!

Thanks for reading nevertheless.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Backbox doesn't refresh
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:06 pm
Posts: 302
Glad you got it working. I got a chance to play on a cabinet a little while ago and it is really cool.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Backbox doesn't refresh
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 2:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 8:44 am
Posts: 371
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Hmmm...
is this a bug at FP?

I got 2 displays. Display 1 is flipped 90 (playfiled), display 2 is the backbox. NOT rotated!

In the FP-options I can rotate screen by software 90°.
But I just can rotate display1 AND display2.
It's not possible to rotate just one. That field stays grey by switching between the displays in the FP-options.

So my solution:
I flip display1 (playfield) in the windows-preferences to high-format and don't flip it in the FP-options. So display 1 looks good. (I can choose 1080x1920 instead of 1920x1080, thats ok). (And it's the only way to get the backbox not frozen!)
But:
While having display 2 (backbox) not flipped by hardware and windows-options there's no way in the FP-options to choose the right resolution for display 2 (that would be 1920x1200). I can choose only 1080x1920 (not 1200x1920!!) and lower, but that would be high-format which I don't wanna use at that backbox screen. So the picture is too high and not wide enough.

The only way to see the backbox is to choose windowed-mode instead of fullscreen... That sucks. AND in windowed-mode the highest choosable resolution is 1024x768 or so....

What's wrong??? Cannot be so difficult!

I didn't try a frontend yet... can I choose monitor-options in that software too?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Backbox doesn't refresh
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 8:44 am
Posts: 371
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Hmmm, in another forum I read that flipping the backbox isn't possible since the non-expiring version from januar. Hm, so using a horizontal backbox-display isn't really possible anymore? Seems like that. No good news to me.

Well there where a few nice things black cut out. :-(

What do all the guys using a horizontal backbox-monitor in their cab?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resolution problems / Backbox doesn't refresh
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:57 am
Posts: 1564
rotate it via your video card


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Resolution problems / Backbox doesn't refresh
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 6:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 8:44 am
Posts: 371
Location: Germany, Bavaria
Unforunately this doesn't work.

- When do not set my playfield to high-format the backbox freezes. So I have to stay at 0° at FP for the playfield.

- I cannot flip playfield to 0° and backbox to 90° by FP, there is only one choice.
So when BB is flipped by videocard I must flip my display too. But it should be horizontal.
Not flipping it by videocard (like I do) dont give me the right resolutions to choose...

Hm, I read the freezing problem is a driver problem of my nvidia-card under Win7. I should use an older one. But I use my pc for other things too...

Well... trying on.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » Welcome to GoPinball » General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: